Skip to content

Luminating: Our first review

November 5, 2011


“Welcome departure from the usual acoustic holiday fare, ‘The Gathering’ brings together several luminaries from the bluegrass and Appalachian folk worlds—including Rhiannon Giddens of the Carolina Chocolate Drops, Laurelyn Dossett of Polecat Creek and Mike Compton of the Nashville Bluegrass Band—for a set of Dossett-penned originals and underplayed American hymns like ‘I Wonder As I Wander’ and ‘Christ Was Born on Christmas Morn.’ Dossett’s light-hearted ‘Redbird,’ a finely detailed paean to a holiday family gathering, is one of many highlights, as is Compton’s gorgeously intricate take on the Bill Monroe instrumental, ‘Old Ebenezer Scrooge.'”

Atlanta Metromix


Comments are closed.